Sublime Forum

How to preserve window layout only for projects

I am relatively new to Sublime Text and I am trying to do something that is fairly easy in pretty much every other editor and IDE I use but seems to be very difficult if not impossible in Sublime. I would like the editor to preserve my window layout (ie: open files specifically) when I’m working on projects, and ignore / forget the open files when not working on a project.

Example workflow:

1. open a Sublime project (ie: from the shell run “subl myproj.sublime-project”)
  2. open a file from within that project (ie: readme.txt)
  3. close the app (ie: mac+q on MacOS)
  4. open an “anonymous” or “non project” instance of Sublime by editing a single file (ie: run “subl other.txt” from the shell)
  5. close the app (ie: mac+q on MacOS)
  6. re-open the previous Sublime project (ie: “subl myproj.sublime-project”)

Expected results:
The Sublime UI should present me with the readme.txt file I had opened the last time I was working on the project (ie: in a single tab), and no other application windows should appear

Actual results:
The actual results different drastically depending on which options you select. For example, if you have remember_open_files set to true and hot_exit set to false you get the following:

• two instances of Sublime are opened - one for the project selected in the last step, and another containing the “anonymous” project or single-file editor instance that was open in step 4

If, however, you have hot_exit set to false and remember_open_files also set to false then you get the following:

• only one instance of Sublime will open - the one for the project selected in the last step - but the file that was being worked on for that project (ie: the readme.txt file in my example) is not re-opened

There seems to be multiple issues that impact the workflow I’m aiming for here, including: