Sublime Forum

How to insert character at specified column

Good morning. New user here. Thanks for any help.

I have a column of numbers and letters, like this:
FH210390RT
HF910226RT
DD120139RO

I want to insert hyphens at the third and ninth columns, like this.
FH-210390-RT
HF-910226-RT
DD-120139-RO

Some of the columns are over 200 lines, although that probably doesn’t matter.
The first two and last two characters are always letters. The middle six characters are always numbers.

Any help is appreciated. Thank you.

0 Likes

maybe use regex replacement if there are really lots of lines.

• Ctrl+H to open the search & replace panel.
  • Make sure we are in REGEX mode (Alt+R)

regex search: ([a-zA-Z]{2})([0-9]{6})([a-zA-Z]{2})
replacement: \1-\2-\3

If you want to test your regex online, https://regex101.com is a good place to go.

0 Likes

Thank you very much.
I’m not an expert in Regex, but have some experience. I gather the approach you took wasn’t necessarily insertion at a specified column position … but it looks like it has to do with whether or not characters are letters or numbers.

This worked very well.

FYI, these are docket numbers for court cases stretching over 25 years. Looks like we have about 8-10,000 lines to do. But certainly not all at once. We break it down to monthly collections - about 75 dockets per month.

Again, thanks.

0 Likes

That is correct. Also note that there are no word boundaries or line anchors in @jfcherng’s regex. It would replace every instance of 2-alpha-6-digit-2-alpha in the entire document regardless of the column position.

If you only wanted matches at the beginning of the line, use the regex ^([a-zA-Z]{2})([0-9]{6})([a-zA-Z]{2}) to bind the matches with the beginning-of-line anchor.

A non-regex approach using multi-cursors (this will go slow with a large number of lines) and assuming every line has the prefix:

1. select all lines (Cmd/ Ctrl+A)
  2. split selection into lines (Cmd/Ctrl+Shift+L)