Sublime Forum

How to highlight text and send to embedded terminus termial

I am new to sublime and am liking more the more I use it. What I am struggling with is a usage pattern I used in Atom where I have an embedded terminal in the editor. I would highlight text in an edit panel, hit ctl-enter and have the text automatically sent to the terminal, which then executes.

I’ve been attempting to use sendText and Terminus packages. The combination works fine if I have a separate native (mac OSX) terminal window already open. What I’d like to do is send the text to a Terminus window. Seems you could do this through keybindings, but it’s beyond what I can figure out and not sure it’s really possible.

Would be very instructive to figure out how to do this.

Thank you!

0 Likes

The Terminus package includes its own integrated terminus_send_string command that can be used to send a string to a Terminus view, though it can only transmit predefined strings unless you were to use a bit of glue plugin code.

The idea of the command is demonstrated in the README as the last item before the FAQ at the bottom, showing an example of simple plugin code to trigger the command:

window.run_command(
    "terminus_send_string", 
    {
        "string": "ls\n",
        "tag": "<YOUR_TAG>"        # ignore this or set it to None to send text to the first terminal found
        "visible_only": False      # send to visible panels only, default is `False`. Only relevent when `tag` is None
    }
)

So if you only ever want to trigger static text being sent, you could bind the terminus_send_string command to a key to do it. That doesn’t help you with the selection angle, though.

For that, you need a bit of plugin code that pulls the selection out of the buffer first. A simple example of that is the following (see this video if you’re not sure how to use plugins):

import sublime
import sublime_plugin

class SendSelectionToTerminusCommand(sublime_plugin.TextCommand):
    """