Sublime Forum

How do I set language specific settings for my tab key

Though I’ve used sublime on and off for a few years, I’m still a bit of a newbie in it.

One thing that I can’t figure out is how to set language specific settings.

In particular I need at times to have my tab key tab to the next mod 2, 4, or 8 tab stop using spaces, or to enter a real tab character, depending on which language I’m in. For example Makefiles and shell here documents can require a real tab character, Nim prohibits them, and C and Python varies, by project and/or user preference, but in Python tab characters must be equivalent to mod 8 tab stops, whereas for Nim it should probably be mod 2 tab stops (all give or take some details and my imperfect recollections.)

I presume that I can configure Sublime to automatically guess which flavor I want based on the filename suffix.

I don’t see how to do anything like that, however.

I am using Sublime build 3114.

My Preferences menu hierarchy includes:

• Settings Default
  • Settings User
  • Settings More ==> Syntax Specific, Distraction Free
  • Key Bindings Default
  • Key Bindings User

Thanks !

1 Like

Settings More -> Syntax Specific will open/create a settings file for the current syntax highlighting used in your current tab. Here you can set your tab size/spaces preferences.

As for inserting a literal tab in some situations, you may need to adjust your keybindings or use shift+tab

2 Likes

[quote=“kingkeith, post:2, topic:22971, full:true”]
Settings More -> Syntax Specific will open/create a settings file for the current syntax highlighting used in your current tab. Here you can set your tab size/spaces preferences.[/quote]
Ah - the key is that there’s a search path for settings files, from the default settings in the distribution, to the user’s overrides, to the user’s syntax (per programming language) specific overrides.

For example, I could place my specific overrides for the Python files that I edit in the file: