Sublime Forum

Hightlight function's name

When I used go_to_difinition,I guess there is a data strutue to storage all the name of the functions.Why not use this to hightlight functions’ name?It is wierd.

0 Likes

Define the term “highlight.”

0 Likes

Sorry,I am not very good at english.What I say is to hightlight(maybe color) all abc show in this picture.

0 Likes

I would guess that your color scheme is lacking of some scopes.

A clean ST 3126 works fine.

1 Like

The aaaa in line 4 should be the same color with the one in first line in my mind so that we can identify which one is a funtion,since some languages can use funtions without bracket which make it look like a variable.

0 Likes

It’s not that important since you can always make/customize a theme for yourself.
It shows that the parser has parsed the function call and assign it a scope.
However, the color is decided by the theme maker.

What ST does: parse codes and assign scopes
What a theme maker does: assign colors for scopes

So, if scopes are wrong, it’s ST’s fault. If scopes are correct but colors are wrong, it’s a problem of the theme you are using. In this case, it’s a problem of the theme.

To check the scope at the cursor, press Ctrl+Alt+Shift+P.

0 Likes

oh,maybe that’s a bug with the parser.The abc in line 4 should be assigned with “entity.name.function…” addtionally.

0 Likes

I won’t call it a bug. Scope naming is a kind of personal taste. Imo, the parser works well and the code is parsed without a problem. The problem is, there is no color assignment for in your theme.

0 Likes

It seems no way to do that in a syntax difiniton file to do this.

0 Likes

syntax definition file is responsible for parsing and assigning scopes to text.
color scheme is responsible for assigning color to scopes.