Sublime Forum

Highlighting and definitions for prose (first plugin advice?)

I’m thinking about using Sublime Text for writing fiction, and as a programmer, I really want to be able to treat character and place names (and other custom terminology for my world) the same way I treat function names – goto definition, find references, and colorize them in text, maybe even pop up information from the definition file for that thing.

I’ve never written a submlime plugin before, but it seems like this could be a reasonably straightforward process, but what a lot of things look like they rely on your text kind of being “code-like” in that there’s a reliable syntax I can define; whereas I would prefer to have a project config file and dynamically load definitions of character/place/lore and then colorize them dynamically in whatever text you’re looking at.

What kinds of plugin facilities should I be looking at for this use case, do you think? (i.e., how do I colorize text without using a static syntax? how to I mark regions as having a definition and also include a file and location for that definition?)

I may have missed the right kind of search terms, but I didn’t really find anything that sounded similar to this…

0 Likes

Generally speaking, syntax highlighting tokens in files is the purview of syntax definitions in combination with a color scheme; the syntax definition lexes the file to determine it’s structure and apply a scope to it that describes what it is, and the color scheme has rules that apply colors based on scopes.

The view.add_regions() API allows you to mark up regions of text, but this applies background colors, boxes, underlines (in various styles) or overstrike to the text; application of foreground colors is not one of the things it does.