Sublime Forum

Emmet Users on Windows Dev Builds?

I’m looking for Windows users of dev builds that use Emmet. I’ve been seeing crash reports, but I haven’t been able to reproduce plugin_host.exe crashing. If anyone can provide pointers, I could really appreciate it!

2 Likes

I’m on Win* and I do use Emmet.
I can reproduce a plugin_host crash by simply try to add a new nested class selector or property in a css/sass/scss file.
I know pointing at Emmet sound weird but, when disabled, plugin_host keeps running well.
I’m not a pro at debugging sublime but it seems there is some sort of race condition with emmet and code suggestions of default css syntax.

hope this helps, and if you need more details, just ask :slight_smile:

0 Likes

I forgot to mention that I run latest dev build on win10pro 64…

0 Likes

Same here, running build 3189 on Win10, crushes every time, the way to prevent crushing with Emmet installed is set auto_complete to false now.

1 Like

Any exact details on reproducing? I installed Emmet on build 3189, created a CSS file, now what do I type, or what command do I run to make it crash?

0 Likes

@wbond Here’s how I reproduce it on my Win 7 x64 PC successfully every time.

1. Download and decompress Windows ST 3189 x64 portable for easy/clean reproducing.
  2. Run ST and install Package Control.
  3. Install Emmet with package Control.
  4. Wait for a while, the status bar (or console) would show PyV8 binary successfully loaded.
  5. Open any existing CSS file.
  6. Type anything that triggers auto completion.
  7. plugin_host.exe will crash immediately.
  8. Terminate ST.
  9. Delete PyV8 binaries. (In my case, it’s in D:\_Download\Sublime Text Build 3189 x64\Data\Installed Packages\PyV8)
  10. You could go from step 4 to step 7 to crash plugin_host.exe again.

The following video shows how it works on my Win7 x64 PC.

This problem still persists in ST 3190 btw.

1 Like