Sublime Forum

Create "fake" new lines

Hi there,

noob here :wink: I use sublime text 3 to create rainmeter skins; I would like to know if there’s a way to create “fake” new lines, I mean like using “enter” but the new line is only “visual” because the .ini files used by Rainmeter, do not allow breaks in the lines of code.

Exemple:

from a line like this (in the editor is just a single line)

MouseOverAction=[!CommandMeasure Transition “Stop 1”][!CommandMeasure Transition “Stop 2”][!CommandMeasure FadeAlpha “Stop 1”][!CommandMeasure FadeAlpha “Execute 1”]

to this

MouseOverAction=[!CommandMeasure Transition “Stop 1”]

[!CommandMeasure Transition “Stop 2”]

[!CommandMeasure FadeAlpha “Stop 1”]

[!CommandMeasure FadeAlpha “Execute 1”]

Thanks in advance!

0 Likes

There’s no way to add fake newlines, though you can enable word wrap.

0 Likes

hoo, that’s no good lol!
Anyway thank you for letting me know!

0 Likes

Maybe using empty phantoms with layout block could work

0 Likes

I admit my profound ignorance but I’ve no clue of what you’re talking about… May you try to explain what that means and how I can do it?

0 Likes

I’m talking about a plugin feature: http://www.sublimetext.com/docs/api_reference.html#sublime.Phantom

I did a quick test and it seems to work. In the console I can type

• view.add_phantom ('fakeline', view.sel()[0], '<br>', sublime.LAYOUT_BLOCK) and it adds a fake line
  • view.erase_phantoms ('fakeline') to remove all fake lines in the current view

Starting from that you can create a command for each action and bind a keys.to each

0 Likes

LAYOUT_BLOCK always appear below the line. They don’t cause the line to break.

0 Likes

Ah correct, did not read the question properly :stuck_out_tongue:

0 Likes

Thank you very much for your kindness and patience, really appreciated!