Sublime Forum

Completions - find previous word

Hello.
I’ve created a JavaScript completions list and I’m fairly happy with it so far. I eventually worked out how to persuade it to ignore string, comment and constant scope, and to also display after a dot ‘.’ .

What I would like to do is persuade it that after entering ‘document.’ it should only show document members. Currently it seems to treat the dot as a terminating character, and so shows my full list of completions. Is there a way to do this by amending the completions scope statement, or by adding something to the JavaScript.tmLanguage file?

Alternatively, I’m considering creating a js_completions.py file. I am a programmer - but not in Python. So I would appreciate some guidance as to how I could modify the following to check the word that appears before the ‘.’ (assuming there is one…) ?

[code]class TagCompletions(sublime_plugin.EventListener):
def on_query_completions(self, view, prefix, locations):
# Only trigger within HTML
if not view.match_selector(locations[0],
“text.html - source”):
return ]

pt = locations[0] - len(prefix) - 1
    ch = view.substr(sublime.Region(pt, pt + 1))
    # I'll change the following to .
    if ch != '<':
        return ][/code]
0 Likes

Did you ever get any of these things going?
I would love to check them out and maybe borrow some ideas if that’s okay.

0 Likes

Attached completions file. It doesn’t filter methods shown (to document, window etc. members) - this is not really possible with a dynamic language such as JavaScript. However, words Window, Document, etc., are part of the trigger. So typing ‘Wind’ will reduce the list to mainly ‘window’ members.

Also, if I use auto-completions for ‘body’, ‘alert()’ it will pre-pend these with the correct object - ‘document.body’ etc.

That is, if I use

[code]mywindow.ale // it will complete as…
mywindow.alert(‘message here’) // but

ale // will complete as…

window.alert(‘message here’)[/code]