Sublime Forum

Completions[] + auto_complete

I’m new to python so this might be a basic/stupid question but,

when using run_command auto_complete is it possible to display the completion similar to sublime-completions files.
ie: completions.append(“MyCompletion\tSpecial Completions”,“MyCompletion”) # which isn’t working of course (different type error)

0 Likes

Are you referring to triggering the auto_completion within a textCommand? Or do you mean [pre=#2A2A2A]def on_query_completions(self, view, prefix, locations):[/pre]

What do you mean by “similar to sublime-completions files”? Do you mean how you can have helper in grey on the popup?

Either way, on_query_completions is expecting a list of tuples. Append only accepts one parameter and will not automatically create a tuple for you. So you could do:

sometuple = ("MyCompletion\thelper text","MyCompletion") completions.append(sometuple)

0 Likes

Yeah, self.view.run_command(‘auto_complete’)…

Exactly that. I want to add the helper text like in sublime-completions files but to the auto_complete using run_command in a textCommand plugin.

completions.append() isn’t taking tuples I get:

TypeError: No registered converter was able to produce a C++ rvalue of type class std::basic_string<wchar_t,struct std::char_traits<wchar_t>,class std::allocator<wchar_t> > from this Python object of type tuple

Appending plain strings works as expected, but I’d love to add helper text as well.
Edit: Apologies for the PM, I hope that was cool. :wink:

0 Likes

Unless I’m missing something, you can’t add autocompletions via a textCommand. You need to add them with on_query_completions. You can send completions from a textCommand to on_query_completions though.

0 Likes

Really? I learned to use it by looking at your DisplayFunctions plugin (for Java) on GitHub which has the following in a textCommand:

self.view.run_command('auto_complete', {
                'disable_auto_insert': True,