Sublime Forum

Clickable hyperlinks within projects

I’m writing prose with ST3. For my use case, it would be handy if I could throw in hyperlinks to other project files now and then as I’m drafting–“see this note about blah blah in chapter 7,” etc. It’s been my understanding (perhaps mistaken, I’m no programmer) that ST does not provide a means of adding hyperlinks within files.

However, I just learned how to do project-wide text searches and in the “search results” page that pops up, the paths appearing at the head of each resulting “hit” are indeed clickable links that open the file in question.

I think I’ve either misunderstood all along, and ST really can accomodate hyperlinks between files, or whatever mechanism makes these clickable paths in “search results” work will not work for the use case I described above.

I’d appreciate any thoughts on this. I’d love to be able to use hyperlinking within my writing projects.

0 Likes

The system you’re referring to there for file results is also used in build systems to allow you to navigate to errors by double clicking.

They’re controlled by three settings that you can apply to any given file that allows it to know that some text should allow you to “jump” somewhere, result_file_regex, result_line_regex and result_base_dir.

Generally speaking, the first two settings are used as regular expressions to match something that is the name of the file that you want to to jump to, the line and column inside of that file, and some sort of associated error message (which is used for things like compiler errors). The third one is used to determine for any relative filename found, what the file should be relative to (though you may have noticed that Find in Files displays an absolute file name for everything).

For anything that matches, that text becomes navigable via a click and Sublime will jump to that file at the given location, opening it if it’s not already present.