Sublime Forum

Built in support for global Text & Merge theme and syntax color schemes

I’m new to Sublime family but liking both Text & Merge so far. How on earth I’ve managed to overlook such gems for so long is beyond me!

Anyways, having just switched to Text & Merge as my daily drivers I think the first very obvious shortcoming is the separate UI theme & syntax management per app. Surely if user purchased both Text & Merge apps he would prefer a single global UI & syntax color scheme, not? Most developers I know would waste days on setting things the way they like and that usually includes applying a common color scheme across all apps from email clients to terminals, editors and CVS.

I think a preference option to allow for global UI & syntax schemes for both Text & Merge apps (and hopefully any other Sublime productivity apps coming our way in the future) would be super useful.

Before you send me to 3rd party Text->Merge color scheme syncing addon packages: I tried this already. It sort works for some syntax themes but not everything synced correctly. Really I think a built in stock syncing option a must.

Any opinions on this?

0 Likes

Merge can already use any color scheme that is currently being used in Sublime Text. You don’t even need to install the color scheme in Merge, it will use the one in Sublime Text. The theme in Merge dictates what color scheme is being used though.

Currently, Merge only ships with the light and dark theme. There may be more themes, but the only 3rd party themes I know that are available currently are https://github.com/meetio-theme/merge-meetio-theme and https://github.com/facelessuser/merge-dracula-theme.

While the theme engine is the same for both Sublime Text and Merge, a Sublime Text theme will not style all of the required Merge elements. The interfaces are just so different, so Sublime Themes are not used in Merge.