Sublime Forum

Build system regex improvement 2

I’ve read a seemingly stalled topic (here) that discussed this matter before.

I’m rather new to Sublime Text and this build system it uses to build build systems (and I’m fascinated by it, by the way, so I’m apologizing for the rant) but it’s unbelievable how this issue is not a recurring one and hasn’t been solved yet.

My problem is that the build system expects that the file, line, column, and error message quartet comes in this certain order and it is a quartet at all (no missing members). Yes, it allows right-side missing members, meaning that you can omit error message, or error message and column. But you cannot have column missing and have error message at the same time.

While this order seems to be logical, I’m pretty sure there’s a gazillion of compilers/builder/whatsoever that doesn’t live up to this expectation. Unfortunately, the one I’m using doesn’t either :cry: I’ve read the docs mentioned in that topic and this one about file_regex, here and I find it inexplicable why this is handled the way it is :confused:

The file_regex + line_regex duo with the “if line is found then search for file backwards” seems to be an overly complicated attempt to achieve something that could be simply completed by using named matching groups. Attempt, because it’s complicated and unreliable.

Here’s an example

restore backups and roll back database and code!
ERROR: 
Migration NEJP_KAR_V00.001.0007__kar_sys_app_user.sql failed
------------------------------------------------------------
SQL State  : 42000
Error Code : 1735
Message    : ORA-01735: nem megengedett ALTER TABLE opci�
Location   : D:\Projects\_vp_ws_1\_projects\NEJP\DDL\prepared\KAR Cache\00\001\NEJP_KAR_V00.001.0007__kar_sys_app_user.sql (D:\Projects\_vp_ws_1\_projects\NEJP\DDL\prepared\KAR Cache\00\001\NEJP_KAR_V00.001.0007__kar_sys_app_user.sql)
Line       : 21