Sublime Forum

Beginner Coder Needs Help With Build System Error

I’m just starting to learn python so I don’t know much about this system.
Every time I try to run the code with ‘ctrl b’ it says “No build system”. What does this mean and how do I fix it?
Thanks

0 Likes

That’s an indication that Sublime doesn’t know how to build the file that you have selected. Generally that would mean that you might be using a type of file that it doesn’t understand, but since it supports Python by default your problem might be that it doesn’t know that the sort of file you’re trying to run is a Python file.

If that’s the case, saving the file and ensuring it has an appropriate extension (e.g. py) may help; the bottom right of the window tells you what sort of file Sublime thinks you’re editing; it should say Python there.

0 Likes

My JavaScript file also has the same problem.
I saved it as a .js file but it still said “No build system”.
Pls help!:sweat:

0 Likes

Sublime doesn’t ship with a way to run a JavaScript program by default, so that’s something that you would have to set up yourself. To do that you need to create a sublime-build file that tells Sublime what to do.

This is a particularly large topic (you can find documentation here), but in short you need to know how to manually do what you’re trying to do from a terminal in order to tell Sublime how to do it for you.

For example, one way to run JavaScript outside of the browser is to use NodeJS. When this is installed, you can use the node command from a terminal to execute a JavaScript script, e.g. node my_file.js.

Once you set up NodeJS and verify that you can run this command from a terminal and have it execute your program properly, you can proceed with setting up Sublime to run that command for you. To do that you would select Tools > Build System > New Build System... from the menu, which will open a new tab with a sample default build system in it that looks like this:

{
    "shell_cmd": "make"
}