Sublime Forum

Auto-pair typographical quotes

I am not a programmer and I’m testing Sublime text as a general editor, oriented to tagged text for Desktop publishing. I have been attempting to get auto-pair working for typographical quotes (“”‘’«») without sucess, due to my lack of knowledge. Any suggestion? I attempted to modify the windows sublime keymap but… Thank you very much in advance.

0 Likes

What I mean is to be able to automatically get closing quotes every time I write opening quotes. Anyhow, it’s possible via a macro, I know.

0 Likes

Look at the default keybindings for example on how auto-pair work:

1. Search “// Auto-pair square brackets”
  2. Copy the corresponding code block to your user keybindings.
  3. Replace ] by what you want.

If done right, it must work.

0 Likes

Excuse my ignorance. No luck, after replacing “” with ““” and “]” with “”” (see lines 2, 6, 9 and 15). This is the piece of code:

// Auto-pair typographical quotes
{ “keys”: ““”], “command”: “insert_snippet”, “args”: {“contents”: ““$0””}, “context”:

{ "key": "setting.auto_match_enabled", "operator": "equal", "operand": true },
  { "key": "selection_empty", "operator": "equal", "operand": true, "match_all": true },
  { "key": "following_text", "operator": "regex_contains", "operand": "^(?:\t| |\\)|”|;|\\}|$)", "match_all": true }
]

},
{ “keys”: ““”], “command”: “insert_snippet”, “args”: {“contents”: ““${0:$SELECTION}””}, “context”:

{ "key": "selection_empty", "operator": "equal", "operand": false, "match_all": true }
]

},
{ “keys”: “””], “command”: “move”, “args”: {“by”: “characters”, “forward”: true}, “context”:

{ "key": "selection_empty", "operator": "equal", "operand": true, "match_all": true },
  { "key": "following_text", "operator": "regex_contains", "operand": "^\\”", "match_all": true }
]

}

0 Likes