Sublime Forum

Accessing submenus in quick panel

I am working on a plugin that loads text notes from an external resource. The plugin works like this: Launch the command palette and type “open note”. Selecting the “open note” menu item executes ListNotebooks() which displays a list of notebooks. Selecting a notebook executes list_notes() that lists the notes in that notebook. Finally, selecting a specific note opens that note in a new view.

I’m having some issues with the last part, though. After reading some posts here, I ended up creating a seperate ViewNote class, but I’m not having any luck with that either. I’m fairly new to Python, so this is probably due to a misunderstanding on my part. Anyway, I’ve been banging my head against this for a few weeks now with no progress, so I’m hoping someone can help. I am able to select a notebook to view the notes in that notebook, but the plugin stops when I select a particular note. I get no errors when I run the plugin, but it seems to stop at the run_command() in the on_done() function.

class ListNotebooksCommand(sublime_plugin.TextCommand):
    def run(self, edit):
        paper = PaperworkAPI()
        notebooklist = paper.list_notebooks()
        sublime.active_window().show_quick_panel(notebooklist, self.list_notes, sublime.KEEP_OPEN_ON_FOCUS_LOST)

def list_notes(self, index):
        if index == -1:
            return 

paper = PaperworkAPI()
        notebooklist = paper.list_notebooks()
        notebooktitle = notebooklist[index]
        self.notebookid = paper.notebook_to_id(notebooktitle)
        self.notelist = paper.list_notes(self.notebookid)
        sublime.active_window().show_quick_panel(self.notelist, self.on_done, sublime.KEEP_OPEN_ON_FOCUS_LOST, 0)

def on_done(self, index):
        paper = PaperworkAPI()
        notelist = paper.list_notes(self.notebookid)
        notetitle = notelist[index]
        noteid = paper.note_to_id(notetitle)