Sublime Forum

Can't find '__main__' module in ''

Hi I’m very new to programming and I want to try Python 3 with Sublime 3. But I can’t get it to work at all. When I try to build it says this:

C:\Windows\system32\python.exe: can't find '__main__' module in '' [Finished in 0.2s with exit code 1] [shell_cmd: python -u ""] [dir: C:\Program Files\Sublime Text 3] [path: C:\Windows\system32;C:\Windows;C:\Windows\System32\Wbem;C:\Windows\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\;C:\Program Files (x86)\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\Core-Static]

I installed Python 3.3 and Sublime 3 Build 3059

The code I try to build is just a simple print "Hello, world!"

I also tried it on my laptop but with the same results. I’ve tried googling it but I can’t find anything that’s simple enough for me to understand, a lot of it seems to be on Linux as well. The only thing I found out was that copying the Python.exe to system32 should work, I’ve done that and it doesn’t work. I’ve also seen something about changing a path, no clue what that is either.

Someone please help me? :cry:

2 Likes

In python > 3.0

print is a regular function so its used like this:
print(‘hello world’)

not like this
print ‘hello world’

So if you are starting, better use a tutorial for python 3 and not one for python 2.x

0 Likes

[quote=“monobotsoft”]In python > 3.0

print is a regular function so its used like this:
print(‘hello world’)

not like this
print ‘hello world’

So if you are starting, better use a tutorial for python 3 and not one for python 2.x[/quote]

Okay I tried to do that instead and it gave me the same result. Still can’t find ‘main’ module in ‘’ :confused:

0 Likes

Lighthammer,
Welcome! First of all, you need to SAVE your code file with the “.py” extension. Then, on the ‘Tools/Build System’ menu, make sure your build system is set to either ‘auto’ or ‘Python’. What that message is telling you is there is no valid Python file to ‘build’ (or, in this case just run).